Safety ChairUnited Tool and Fastener’s Safety Specialist, Charlie Gertson, was recently named the Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) Houston Chapter Safety Co-Chair for the upcoming 2019 and 2020 years.

The new AGC Safety Chairs were named at the 4th annual holiday mixer on Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018 at Cedar Creek.

Gertson will be part of a three-person Safety Chair group, which includes Adrian Alvarez of WS Bellows as the full committee chair and Kevin Virag of Gilbane as the subcommittee chair.

“The Safety Chairs are responsible for running the very large regular committee meetings and generating ideas for the committee,” explained AGC Houston’s Senior Director of Safety Services, Kim Mason.

“They will determine the direction for the group including growth, recruiting new safety members, events, presentations, compliance issues, and guiding members toward resources and networking.”

Gertson is the first vendor/supplier to hold the co-chair position as it has historically always been held by a subcontractor.

According to Mason, although the committee chair positions are voluntary, the chairs must be nominated by their peers, and only a small handful of safety professionals are awarded the opportunity to lead the largest safety committee in the state.

Outgoing Safety Chairs include Robert Schindler of Arch-Con and Eddie Escamilla of Karsten Interiors.